About the AMS-PSG

The AMS Pedagogy Study Group is a community of teacher-scholars who aim to think creatively and reflectively about all facets of teaching music history.

Pedagogy is rarely a focus of graduate training in musicology, and even seasoned instructors know that college-level teaching involves perpetual refinement and adaptation. AMS-PSG aims to equip, challenge, and inspire musicologists from all career stages to grow as effective teachers.

AMS-PSG supports a number of forums for the exchange of ideas and resources among musicologists. Recognized officially by the American Musicological Society since 2006, AMS-PSG sponsors panel sessions and breakout discussions at each AMS meeting that focus on pedagogical issues of current importance to the discipline. It promotes further dialogue through the annual Teaching Music History Conference, The Journal of Music History Pedagogy, and the AMS-PSG Facebook group. Seeking to be as inclusive and relevant as possible, AMS-PSG focuses on active dialogue among instructors who serve a wide range of institutions and curricula.

Please contact Louis Epstein (epstein@stolaf.edu) if you are interested in service within the Pedagogy Study Group.

Donate to the AMS-PSG

AMS-PSG Bylaws


Louis Epstein, St. Olaf College (co-chair)

Esther Morgan-Ellis, University of North Georgia (co-chair)

Alex Ludwig, Berklee College of Music (secretary/treasurer)

AMS 2021 Chicago Evening Panel Program Committee

Mary Natvig, Bowling Green State University (chair)
Kirsten Speyer Carithers, University of Louisville
T.J. Laws-Nicola, University of Kansas
Marjorie Roth, Nazareth College
Kelly Huff, Washburn University

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Esther Morgan-Ellis, University of North Georgia (chair)

Kirsten Carithers, University of Louisville

Ana Alonso-Minutti, University of New Mexico

Melanie Lowe, Vanderbilt University

Daniel Barolsky, Beloit College

Lacie Eades, University of Missouri-Kansas City

Sarah Day-O’Connell, Skidmore College

PSG Liaison to the AMS CCRI

Reba Wissner, Columbus State University

Website Committee

Caitlin Schmid, Reed College (chair)
Jacob A. Cohen (webmaster)
Brooke McCorkle Okazaki, Carleton College
S. Andrew Granade, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Paula Bishop, Bridgewater State University

Liz Massey, University of Maryland

Sarah Kane, Clark University